Yepper. It's the one. I think if sellers (especially those who sell top notch quality and otherwise highly desirable and valuable machines) would somehow elegantly watermark their pictures with their eBay user ID (i.e. "Auction of: Your ID Here") it would deter the scam artists, but perhaps more importantly by doing so, would keep some of the burden off of the "eBay police" who really don't have the resources to keep after all of the infractions. I say that because I think it [watermarking] is probably a good idea, generally....BUT, a few years ago, I watermarked images in an auction using my real name (not phonograph related) and not only did someone use the images with my name but they linked to my website. Maybe their English was so bad that they did not realize the significance of the watermarked name (which I doubt, because after all they knew enough to jump through the hoops to list an item and steal a US eBay account to perpetrate the scam) but even so, fundamental morality like thou shalt not steal is not a matter of what country someone is from or the language(s) they speak. Those sorts of folks are probably very intelligent and might do very well in business if they would apply themselves to honest labor - but some kids like to play with fire and never seem to get burned (well, not yet). Again, I am thankful for this group to make these issues know and responsibly warn each other. Walt -----Original Message----- From: phono-l-bounces at oldcrank.org [mailto:phono-l-bounces at oldcrank.org] On Behalf Of Robert Plavzic Sent: Saturday, July 29, 2006 9:05 AM To: Antique Phonograph List Subject: Re: [Phono-L] Is this that fishy Home again? and again ......................... http://cgi.ebay.com/Early-Edison-Home-Phonograph-Model-A-Suitcase-SUPER_W0QQ itemZ300012374724QQihZ020QQcategoryZ307QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem On 7/12/06, Walt Sommers <BoSommers at adelphia.net> wrote: > > Well, I must say thanks to Loran's efforts in maintaining this forum and > the > generally high caliber of sincere collectors who subscribe and participate > in this Phono-List. The books and reference materials we have access to > out > there are indeed education to help prevent scam artist tactics, but the > real-time inputs and often immediate warnings (like this thread started) > from people on this list have been a wonderful public service and I don't > even have to pay any taxes for it. > > New collectors, from what I have observed, are not only getting scammed as > they try to get involved, but because they don't have the luxury of > talking > to knowledgeable people (or at least they aren't initially aware of > resources like this list) they often pay too much for machines that have > all > sorts of inelegant repairs, mixes and matches of parts, reproduction > parts, > and so on. > > Caveat emptor will always be the final consideration for all rational > creatures like us, and I, for one, am glad to have the resources and > relationships as a result of this forum to help guide me. At lease here, > and > I can say this from personal experience, we can and do look out for each > other's backs... > > Walt > > > > > -----Original Message----- > From: phono-l-bounces at oldcrank.org [mailto:phono-l-bounces at oldcrank.org] > On > Behalf Of crankemup at comcast.net > Sent: Wednesday, July 12, 2006 7:42 AM > To: Antique Phonograph List > Subject: Re: [Phono-L] Is this that fishy Home again? > > For me at least, the time has come where I'll probably not be bidding on > any > machines on Ebay, especially the high end ones. Due to these scam artists' > ability to hijack a legitimate seller's Ebay name and other data, you > can't > even say, "Oh, I know this guy, he's ok." I feel bad for all the > prospective > collectors starting up out there. We were all in that boat once, many of > us > long before all the reference books that abound out there. > I came close to being scammed last year when I was unsuccessful on bidding > on a Kreusi replica. Several days later, I received an email from the > "purported" seller saying that the high bidder had reneiged, and I could > have it for my bid. He even sent me a "legitimate" looking website of the > shipper. He wanted me to wire the money Western Union to Greece!!!. I > called > the shipping company, and they said the didn't do business the way this > individual claimed and that it was probably a scam. (I was suspicious when > he told me NOT to contact the shipping company. Sometimes it's good to be > contrary!) > If anyone is interested, I saved all those emails from the seller (and > "shipping company")and I will send them to you off list. (It's good for a > chuckle, because he was really desperate, he even changed the wire address > to a UK office later on!) I also went to the FedGov page and reported the > attempted transaction, needless to say, I haven't heard a peep from them. > > Be ever vigilant! > Bill > _______________________________________________ > Phono-L mailing list > Phono-L at oldcrank.org > > Phono-L Archive > http://phono-l.oldcrank.org/archive/ > > Support Phono-L > http://www.cafepress.com/oldcrank > > -- > No virus found in this incoming message. > Checked by AVG Free Edition. > Version: 7.1.394 / Virus Database: 268.9.10/385 - Release Date: 7/11/2006 > > > _______________________________________________ > Phono-L mailing list > Phono-L at oldcrank.org > > Phono-L Archive > http://phono-l.oldcrank.org/archive/ > > Support Phono-L > http://www.cafepress.com/oldcrank > _______________________________________________ Phono-L mailing list Phono-L at oldcrank.org Phono-L Archive http://phono-l.oldcrank.org/archive/ Support Phono-L http://www.cafepress.com/oldcrank -- No virus found in this incoming message. Checked by AVG Free Edition. Version: 7.1.394 / Virus Database: 268.10.5/403 - Release Date: 7/28/2006